Alumni_Awards_Recipients_350x236.jpgNearly 300 members of the Northwestern University community gathered April 25 to celebrate the Northwestern Alumni Association’s 82nd annual Alumni Awards.


Accepting the program’s top honor, the Alumni Medal, was alumnus Nicholas D. Chabraja, a life trustee of the University and a former trial lawyer and business executive. Inspired by one of his undergraduate professors, Chabraja '64, '67 JD established a center for the study of history at Northwestern and serves as a life trustee.


Alumni merit, service, emerging leader and achievement awards were presented to an additional 17 alumni and friends of the University. The gala event was held at the Four Seasons Hotel Chicago.


Shiba Russell, who earned a Master of Science degree in 1998 from Northwestern’s Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications, presented the evening’s awards. Russell is an Emmy Award-winning co-anchor on NBC 4 New York’s noon and evening newscasts.


Northwestern President Morton Schapiro joined Kathryn Mlsna '74, '77 JD, '03 P, '12 P, president of the Northwestern Alumni Association (NAA), and Laura Wayland, executive director of the NAA, in thanking award recipients for their impressive contributions to Northwestern and the world.


“Our award recipients are an inspiration,” Mlsna said, “and they are role models who remind our current students that the education and relationships that begin at Northwestern make anything possible.”


For more than eight decades, the NAA has honored alumni who have distinguished themselves both personally and professionally and who have dedicated their time and service to Northwestern. This year’s award recipients have earned acclaim in business, education, film and television, sports, law, literature, health care, philanthropy and the arts.


Award details and brief biographies of award recipients follow. To view extended profiles of the 2015 honorees, visit the Northwestern Alumni Association’s website.