MW Building.jpg

The Montgomery Ward building on Northwestern's Chicago campus.

The Commission on Chicago Landmarks has approved Northwestern’s proposal to create a historic district encompassing three of the University’s iconic buildings on its Chicago campus. The proposal now will go to the Chicago City Council for official designation.

The Northwestern University Chicago Campus District would include three historic buildings: the Montgomery Ward Building, Wieboldt Hall and Levy Mayer Hall/Gary Law Library.

Renowned architect James Gamble Rogers designed all three of the Gothic Revival-style buildings, located on Chicago Avenue between Lake Shore Drive and Fairbanks Court. The buildings — the first to be built on the Chicago campus — were constructed from 1925 to 1926, bringing the University’s professional schools together in one location after they had been housed in various locations in Chicago.

Northwestern and the Chicago Department of Planning and Development collaborated on preparing the application for the proposed historic district, said Eugene S. Sunshine, senior vice president for business and finance at Northwestern.

“We’re very pleased that these buildings are now being considered for historic designation. Northwestern has thoughtfully maintained and restored all three buildings, which are important landmarks for the University and the Streeterville community,” Sunshine said. “We appreciate the guidance and assistance that we received from the City of Chicago in preparing this proposal, and we’re hopeful that the Campus District will be approved by the City Council.”

Visit the Northwestern News Center for the full story.

For more stories from this month’s Alumni News, visit the NAA on Our Northwestern, the University’s online community.